Thursday, July 07, 2005

Regions & Counties of New York State

When you call the Research Network, you may ask for a list of competitors in a certain region, say, Western New York. When a librarian starts work on your question, (s)he needs to define what counties make up that region. To do this, I use Empire State Development's definitions:

(1) Western New York: Niagara, Erie, Chautauqua, Cattaraugus, Allegany
(2) Finger Lakes: Orleans, Genesee, Wyoming, Monroe, Livingston, Wayne, Ontario, Yates, Seneca
(3) Southern Tier: Steuben, Schuyler, Chemung, Tompkins, Tioga, Broome, Chenango, Otsego, Delaware
(4) Central NY: Cayuga, Oswego, Onondaga, Cortland, Madison
(5) North Country: Jefferson, Lewis, St. Lawrence, Franklin, Clinton, Essex
(6) Mohawk Valley: Oneida, Herkimer, Hamilton, Fulton, Montgomery, Schoharie
(7) Capital Region: Warren, Saratoga, Washington, Schenectady, Albany, Rensselaer, Greene, Columbia
(8) Mid-Hudson: Sullivan, Ulster, Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Westchester
(9) New York City: Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens, Richmond
(10) Long Island: Nassau, Suffolk

If the counties of Western New York or another region means something different to you, please let us know when you put in your research request. We want to deliver the right information to you and your client.

No comments: